Janet L. Yellen Sworn in as Fed Chair

Janet L. Yellen on Monday took the oath of office as Chair of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. The oath was administered by Governor Daniel K. Tarullo in the Board Room.

President Obama announced his intention to nominate Dr. Yellen to be the Chair of the Board of Governors on October 9, 2013, and the Senate confirmed her on January 6, 2014. Prior to her appointment as Chair, Dr. Yellen served as Vice Chair of the Board of Governors.

Dr. Yellen's term as Chair ends February 3, 2018, and her term as a member of the Board ends January 31, 2024.

A biography of Dr. Yellen is available on the Board's website: www.federalreserve.gov/bios/.

For media inquiries, call 202-452-2955.

Chair Yellen's bio