Financial Update (Second Quarter 2002)


Cover Story


Banks Weather Downturn

SBAL Appointees

Housing GSEs

FRBA Annual Report


Did You Know?

Data Bank

The Docket

New Members to Small Business, Agriculture and Labor Advisory Council

Jack Guynn, president and chief executive officer of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta, appointed six new members to the bank’s Small Business, Agriculture and Labor Advisory Council (SBAL). The new members are John R. Bourg Sr., Henry F. Bowman, Robert G. Currie, Darrell S. Freeman Sr., Trudi K. Williams and Lawton Wofford. They will each serve three one-year terms.

Four of the appointees are small business representatives. Bowman is owner of a pallet-manufacturing firm in Hartselle, Ala., C&L Wood Products Inc. Currie is an architect, planner and interior designer operating an architecture and planning firm, Robert G. Currie Partnership Inc. in Delray Beach, Fla. Freeman is president and chief executive officer of Zycron Computer Services Inc., an information technology services firm operating in Nashville, Tenn. Williams is chief executive officer of TKW Consulting Engineers Inc., a civil, structural and environmental engineering firm in Fort Myers, Fla.

Wofford, executive director of industry relations at Hubbard ISA, a poultry breeder, will serve as an agriculture representative.

Bourg, the new labor representative, is president of the Louisiana AFL-CIO. He has been a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers Local Union 995 since 1952.

The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta established the SBAL in 1985 to foster better communication among small business, agriculture, labor, the bank and, ultimately, the Federal Reserve System. Although these economic sectors are already represented on the bank’s boards of directors, the SBAL allows further dialogue with groups that have special needs.

The council consists of 15 members — eight from small business, four from agriculture and three from labor. The members are chosen by reviewing the current composition of the council based on economic sector and geographic regions with the goal of having a diverse membership. The council meets twice a year.