Atlanta Fed Fact Sheet

The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta is one of 12 regional Reserve Banks in the United States that, together with the Board of Governors in Washington, D.C., make up the Federal Reserve System—the nation's central bank. Since its establishment by an act of Congress in 1913, the Federal Reserve System's primary goal has been to foster a sound financial system and a healthy economy. To advance this goal, the Atlanta Fed works with the other regional Reserve Banks to help formulate monetary policy, supervise and regulate banks and bank holding companies, and provide payment services to financial institutions and the federal government.

District Territory: The Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta serves the Sixth Federal Reserve District, which covers the states of Alabama, Florida, and Georgia and parts of Louisiana, Mississippi and Tennessee.
First Vice President, Chief Operating Officer, and Acting President and Chief Executive Officer: Marie Gooding
Board Chairs: Thomas A. Fanning (Chair)
Chairman, President, and Chief Executive Officer
Southern Company
  Michael J. Jackson (Deputy Chair)
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
AutoNation Inc.
Locations: The Bank is headquartered in Atlanta, Ga., with branches in Birmingham, Ala.; Jacksonville, Fla.; Miami, Fla.; Nashville, Tenn.; and New Orleans, La.
Employees: Approximately 1,700 total employees, 1,340 employees in Atlanta
Corporate Divisions: Financial services, economic research, supervision and regulation, and corporate services
Year Established: 1914
Financial Information