Atlanta Fed Appoints Rogers to Federal Advisory Council

For immediate release: January 10, 2018

William H. Rogers Jr., chairman and chief executive officer of SunTrust Banks Inc., was reappointed to the Federal Reserve Board of Governors' Federal Advisory Council (FAC). His term begins January 1, 2018, and ends December 31, 2018.

Rogers has served as chairman and chief executive officer of SunTrust Banks Inc. since January 2012. He began his career in 1980 in the commercial banking division of the company. He held senior positions in corporate and commercial banking, corporate finance, retail banking, private wealth management, and mortgage prior to being named president in 2008 and chief operating officer in 2010. He was appointed president and chief executive officer in June 2011 and became chairman and chief executive officer in January 2012.

Rogers serves as a board member for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Metro Atlanta and is chair of Achieve Atlanta. He is a member of the Emory University Board of trustees and the Atlanta Committee for Progress and serves on the board of Operation HOPE. Rogers also volunteers on the board of advisers of the Robinson College of Business at Georgia State University and the board of trustees of the Woodruff Arts Center. He is a former member of the board of directors of the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta.

Rogers earned a bachelor's degree in business administration from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and an MBA from Georgia State University.

The Federal Advisory Council is composed of 12 representatives of the banking industry. The council meets several times a year to consult with and advise the Board of Governors on all matters within the board's jurisdiction. Each Reserve Bank chooses one council member to represent its district, and the members elect their own officers.

Contact: Jean Tate 404-498-8035